2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup Officiating Team

Windsor, ON – The Canadian Hockey League today announced the officiating team for the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup in Windsor.

Four referees including two from the Ontario Hockey League, one from the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League, and one from the Western Hockey League have all been assigned for the championship. A crew of six linesmen from the OHL have also been selected for the event.

OHL referees in the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup include Darcy Burchell of Etobicoke, ON, and Mike Cairns of Scarborough, ON, who each received their second championship assignment.  Burchell previously skated in the 2010 Mastercard Memorial Cup in Brandon, MB, while Cairns was the OHL representative at the 2015 event in Quebec City.  Representing the WHL is Steve Papp of Kelowna, BC, who is working his first Mastercard Memorial Cup, with Guillaume Labonte skating on behalf of the QMJHL and also participating in his first championship.

Linesmen selected to work the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup include Geoff Rutherford from nearby Lasalle, ON, along with Adam Harris (Hamilton), Andrew Jackson (Caledon), Justin Knaggs (Whitby), Dustin McCrank (Guelph), and Andrew Smith (Kitchener).  McCrank previously worked the 2014 Mastercard Memorial Cup in London, while all five other officials have been assigned to their first championship.

Officiating Team:

Number of CHL seasons in brackets

#17 – Steve Papp (11)
#34 – Mike Cairns (8)
#35 – Guillaume Labonte (7)
#38 – Darcy Burchell (10)

#49 – Adam Harris (7)
#51 – Andrew Smith (1)
#57 – Drew Jackson (10)
#62 – Geoff Rutherford (16)
#68 – Dustin McCrank (9)
#92 – Justin Knaggs (6)

The Memorial Cup was donated in 1919 by the Ontario Hockey Association as a memorial to those young men and women who had been given their lives in the defence of Canada during World War I.  The 2017 edition of the championship in Windsor marks the 99th time this prestigious trophy will be presented.

The 2017 MasterCard Memorial Cup is proudly supported by Mastercard, title sponsor of this event for 19 straight years.  Associate sponsors include CIBC, Cooper Tires, and

For more information please visit

More News
Statement: CHL Cancels 2020 Playoffs and Memorial Cup
4 months ago
CHL Statement: 2020 Memorial Cup
4 months ago
CHL Statement: 2019-20 season paused until further notice
4 months ago
2004 Memorial Cup Memories
5 months ago
Country superstar Brett Kissel to headline concert at 2020 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia
5 months ago
2020 Memorial Cup Presented by Kia Schedule and Game Times
6 months ago