2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup Awards & All-Stars


Following the Championship Final, the Canadian Hockey League announced the top individual award winners and tournament All-Stars for the 2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup as selected by NHL Central Scouting.

Erie Otters captain Dylan Strome won a pair of awards, earning the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy awarded to the Mastercard Memorial Cup MVP. Strome’s tournament-leading seven goals are one shy of tying a record.

Strome was also the recipient of the Ed Chynoweth Trophy, awarded annually to the leading scorer of the Mastercard Memorial Cup. Strome finished with seven goals, four assists and 11 points, setting a new tournament record in the process with seven points in a 12-5 victory over the Saint John Sea Dogs on Monday. Otters teammate Taylor Raddysh also finished with 11 points, recording five goals and six assists in five games.

Mastercard Memorial Cup champion Michael DiPietro of the Windsor Spitfires earned the Hap Emms Memorial Trophy as the tournament’s most outstanding goaltender. DiPietro went 4-0 with a 2.00 goals-against average and a .932 save percentage, turning away 32 shots in Windsor’s 4-3 championship win.

Erie Otters veteran Anthony Cirelli rounded out the award winners, receiving the George Parsons Trophy as the Most Sportsmanlike Player. The Tampa Bay Lightning prospect recorded a goal and seven assists for eight points in five contests.

Three Windsor Spitfires and three Erie Otters were named to the tournament All-Star team, with the Mastercard Memorial Cup champion Spitfires being represented by goaltender Michael DiPietro, defenceman Mikhail Sergachev and forward Gabriel Vilardi. Erie’s Strome was joined by brothers Darren and Taylor Raddysh in representing the Otters.


2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup Awards:

Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player) – Dylan Strome (Erie Otters)

Ed Chynoweth Trophy (Top Scorer) – Dylan Strome (Erie Otters)

George Parsons Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike Player) – Anthony Cirelli (Erie Otters)

Hap Emms Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Goaltender) – Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)

Click here to see a historical list of all award winners


2017 Mastercard Memorial Cup All-Star Team:

Goalie – Michael DiPietro (Windsor Spitfires)

Defence – Darren Raddysh (Erie Otters)

Defence – Mikhail Sergachev (Windsor Spitfires)

Forward – Gabriel Vilardi (Windsor Spitfires)

Forward – Alex DeBrincat (Erie Otters)

Forward – Taylor Raddysh (Erie Otters)

Click here to see a historical list of All-Star Teams

More News
Quebec Remparts and Saint John Sea Dogs bid to host 2022 Memorial Cup presented by Kia
3 months ago
CHL announces cancellation of the 2021 Memorial Cup
5 months ago
Memorial Cup Commemorative Jerseys
10 months ago
Statement: CHL Cancels 2020 Playoffs and Memorial Cup
1 year ago
CHL Statement: 2020 Memorial Cup
2 years ago
CHL Statement: 2019-20 season paused until further notice
2 years ago