2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup Awards and All-Stars

Following the Championship Final, the Canadian Hockey League announced the top individual award winners and tournament All-Stars for the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup as selected by NHL Central Scouting.

A trio of Edmonton Oil Kings won tournament awards including Edgars Kulda of the Edmonton Oil Kings who claimed the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy as the tournament’s MVP scoring four goals and three assists in five games.  Phoenix Coyotes prospect Henrik Samuelsson of the Oil Kings took home the Ed Chynoweth Trophy as the tournament’s top scorer with eight points including five recorded in the Championship Final.  The Oil Kings’ Curtis Lazar, an Ottawa Senators prospect, was named Most Sportsmanlike Player earning the George Parsons Trophy.

Antoine Bibeau of the QMJHL Champion Val-d’Or Foreurs was named Outstanding Goaltender of the 2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup.  The 20-year-old from Victoriaville, PQ, and Toronto Maple Leaf prospect made 178 saves in four games with a 2.76 goal against average and a .932 save percentage.

Three Oil Kings were also named to the tournament All-Star team including defenceman Colorado Avalanche prospect Cody Corbett, and forwards Kulda and Samuelsson.

Maple Leafs prospect Matt Finn and Columbus Blue Jackets prospect Kerby Rychel from the Guelph Storm, along with Bibeau in goal rounded out the rest of the All-Star Team.


2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup Awards:

Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy (Most Valuable Player) – Edgars Kulda (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Ed Chynoweth Trophy (Top Scorer) – Henrik Samuelsson (Edmonton Oil Kings)

George Parsons Trophy (Most Sportsmanlike Player) – Curtis Lazar (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Hap Emms Memorial Trophy (Outstanding Goaltender) – Antoine Bibeau (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Click here to see a historical list of all award winners


2014 MasterCard Memorial Cup All-Star Team:

Goalie – Antoine Bibeau (Val-d’Or Foreurs)

Defence – Cody Corbett (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Defence – Matt Finn (Guelph Storm)

Forward – Edgars Kulda (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Forward – Kerby Rychel (Guelph Storm)

Forward – Henrik Samuelsson (Edmonton Oil Kings)

Click here to see a historical list of all-stars

More News
CHL announces cancellation of the 2021 Memorial Cup
22 hours ago
Memorial Cup Commemorative Jerseys
5 months ago
Statement: CHL Cancels 2020 Playoffs and Memorial Cup
1 year ago
CHL Statement: 2020 Memorial Cup
1 year ago
CHL Statement: 2019-20 season paused until further notice
1 year ago
2004 Memorial Cup Memories
1 year ago